As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

Apple iPad 11-inch A16 128GB vs Apple iPad 11-inch 128GB (Renewed) (2026): Key Differences

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

This comparison of the apple ipad 11 inch a16 chip vs apple ipad helps you decide between a new model and a renewed option. Both devices share the same 11-inch Liquid Retina display and 128GB storage capacity. The primary difference lies in the processor and condition. The first model features the A16 chip for enhanced performance. The second is a renewed unit with a battery exceeding 80% capacity. You get similar core functionality but different hardware generations and warranty terms.

Key differences

AspectApple iPad 11-inch A16 128GBApple iPad 11-inch 128GB (Renewed)
ProcessorA16 chipnot listed
ConditionNewRenewed Premium
Battery Capacitynot listedExceeds 80% capacity
ColorYellowSilver
Warrantynot listed365-day replacement or refund

Which one should you choose?

Choose Apple iPad 11-inch A16 128GB if

  • You want the latest A16 chip performance for gaming and editing.
  • You prefer a new device with original accessories and packaging.
  • You need Wi-Fi 6 connectivity for faster file transfers.

Choose Apple iPad 11-inch 128GB (Renewed) if

  • You want a lower-cost option with a 365-day return policy.
  • You are comfortable with a renewed device that has been inspected and cleaned.
  • You prefer the Silver color finish over the available Yellow option.

Verdict: Choose the new iPad if you prioritize the A16 chip's speed and Wi-Fi 6 support. The renewed model suits you if you want a budget-friendly option with a strong return guarantee. Both devices offer the same screen size and storage for everyday tasks.

A16 Chip Versus Renewed Status

Processor Performance

Edge: Apple iPad 11-inch A16 128GB

Product A features the A16 chip, which Apple describes as superfast and designed to boost performance for gaming, photo editing, and video tasks. This dedicated processor ensures smooth operation for demanding applications. Product B is listed as a renewed 2025 Apple iPad with an 11-inch display and 128GB storage. The data for Product B does not specify the exact processor model used in this renewed unit. While the A16 chip in Product A offers a known performance baseline, the specific processing power of the renewed device remains undefined in the provided specifications. You must rely on the known A16 specs for Product A.

Connectivity Standards

Edge: Apple iPad 11-inch A16 128GB

Product A explicitly supports Wi-Fi 6, providing fast access to files, uploads, and downloads, along with seamless streaming capabilities. This modern standard ensures efficient network performance. Product B is described as having Wi-Fi connectivity, but the specific generation or standard is not listed in its key specs or features. It is simply labeled as Wi-Fi without further technical detail. If you require the specific benefits of Wi-Fi 6, such as improved efficiency and speed in congested networks, Product A provides the confirmed specification. Product B’s connectivity level is less defined in the available data.

Camera Specifications

Edge: Apple iPad 11-inch A16 128GB

Product A includes advanced cameras, specifically a 12MP Center Stage front camera for video calls and a 12MP Wide back camera with True Tone flash for photos and 4K video. These details are clearly outlined in its features. Product B is a renewed device, and the provided data does not list any camera specifications. It is unclear if the cameras match the 12MP sensors of the new model or if they have been tested for quality. For users who prioritize specific camera capabilities like Center Stage or 4K recording, Product A offers verified hardware details that Product B lacks in the provided information.

Security Features

Edge: Apple iPad 11-inch A16 128GB

Product A includes Touch ID built into the top button, allowing you to unlock the device, sign into apps, and make secure payments with Apple Pay using your fingerprint. This biometric security feature is explicitly mentioned. Product B is a renewed item, and the data does not mention Touch ID or any other security mechanisms. While many iPads include this feature, the absence of confirmation in Product B’s data means you cannot verify its presence. Product A guarantees the inclusion of Touch ID for secure access and authentication.

Condition and Warranty

Edge: Apple iPad 11-inch 128GB (Renewed)

Product B is a renewed premium item that has been professionally inspected, tested, and cleaned by Amazon-qualified suppliers. It comes with a battery exceeding 80% capacity and includes a 365-day replacement or refund policy if you are unsatisfied. Accessories are compatible but not original. Product A is a new device with no mention of such a warranty or battery condition metrics, as it is brand new. If you prefer the assurance of a long return window and verified battery health, Product B offers these specific consumer protections that are not detailed for the new model.

Stylus Compatibility

Edge: Apple iPad 11-inch A16 128GB

Product A is compatible with Apple Pencil (USB-C) and the first-generation Apple Pencil, allowing you to use it for drawing and note-taking. It also supports the Magic Keyboard Folio. Product B is a renewed iPad, and the data does not specify which styluses are compatible with this unit. While it is likely compatible with similar accessories, the lack of explicit confirmation means you cannot be certain. Product A clearly lists its stylus support, making it the safer choice if you plan to use specific digital pens or keyboards.

Choose the right iPad for your needs

Users needing the latest processor power

Our pick: Apple iPad 11-inch A16 128GB

Product A includes the A16 chip, which Apple states delivers superfast performance for gaming and editing. It also features Wi-Fi 6 for faster file access and uploads. You get a new device with a 12MP Center Stage front camera and Touch ID built into the top button for secure unlocking.

Buyers seeking a budget-friendly renewed option

Our pick: Apple iPad 11-inch 128GB (Renewed)

Product B is a renewed unit inspected by Amazon-qualified suppliers. It guarantees a battery exceeding 80% capacity relative to new. You receive a 365-day replacement or refund policy if unsatisfied. It retains the 11-inch Liquid Retina display and 128GB storage, offering core functionality at a lower entry point.

Those wanting guaranteed new accessories and warranty

Our pick: Apple iPad 11-inch A16 128GB

Product A is brand new, ensuring original accessories and full manufacturer support. It comes with iPadOS for multitasking and Scribble features. You can use Apple Pencil (USB-C) or the first generation for note-taking. The 12MP Wide back camera supports 4K video recording and document scanning with True Tone flash.

The products compared

Apple iPad 11-inch A16 128GB

Best for: casual users needing portability

Screen Size
11-inch
Storage Capacity
128GB
Display Type
Liquid Retina
Processor
A16 chip
Connectivity
Wi-Fi 6
Stylus Compatibility
Apple Pencil (USB-C, 1st gen)

View on Amazon: Apple iPad 11-inch A16 128GB Affiliate link

This 11-inch iPad features the A16 chip and a Liquid Retina display. It includes 128GB of storage and Wi-Fi 6 connectivity. The device weighs 1.05 pounds and measures 0.28 inches thick. Touch ID is built into the top button for secure access. It supports Apple Pencil (USB-C) and the 1st generation Apple Pencil. This model suits users who need reliable performance for everyday tasks.

Pros

  • A16 chip delivers fast performance for games and editing.
  • 11-inch Liquid Retina display with True Tone for comfortable viewing.
  • Wi-Fi 6 provides fast file access and streaming.
  • 12MP Center Stage front camera and 12MP Wide back camera.
  • Touch ID built into the top button for secure unlocking.

Cons

  • Only 128GB base storage limits large media libraries.
  • Supports only Wi-Fi, lacking cellular connectivity options.
  • Does not include the latest Apple Pencil Pro compatibility.

Good fit if

  • You want a lightweight tablet for casual media consumption.
  • You need Touch ID for quick and secure device access.
  • You prefer Wi-Fi only connectivity for home or office use.

Skip if

  • You require cellular connectivity for internet access on the go.
  • You need more than 128GB of internal storage capacity.
  • You want the latest Apple Pencil Pro for advanced drawing features.

Verdict: Apple iPad 11-inch A16 128GB offers solid performance for students and casual users who prioritize portability and Touch ID convenience.

Apple iPad 11-inch 128GB (Renewed)

Best for: users wanting a 365-day warranty

Screen Size
11-inch
Storage Capacity
128GB
Features
Wi-Fi
Color
Silver
Dimensions
30 × 30 × 6 inches
Weight
1.05 pounds

View on Amazon: Apple iPad 11-inch 128GB (Renewed) Affiliate link

This renewed Apple iPad features an 11-inch display and 128GB of storage. It includes a battery exceeding 80% capacity and arrives in excellent cosmetic condition. You get compatible accessories and a 365-day replacement or refund policy. It suits you if you want a reliable tablet without the new premium price. The Silver finish and Wi-Fi connectivity round out the package.

Pros

  • 11-inch Liquid Retina display
  • 128GB storage capacity
  • Battery exceeds 80% capacity
  • 365-day replacement or refund policy

Cons

  • Not Apple certified
  • Accessories are compatible but not original
  • Wi-Fi only connectivity

Good fit if

  • You want a reliable tablet with a 365-day return window
  • You prefer a larger 11-inch screen for media
  • You need 128GB of local storage

Skip if

  • You require Apple certified hardware
  • You need original accessories
  • You require cellular connectivity

Verdict: Apple iPad 11-inch 128GB Renewed is a solid option for you if you prioritize a 365-day warranty and a large screen over factory certification. It fits users who do not need cellular data or original accessories.

Specifications side by side

Spec Apple iPad 11-inch A16 128GB Apple iPad 11-inch 128GB (Renewed)
Screen Size 11-inch 11-inch
Storage Capacity 128GB 128GB
Display Type Liquid Retina not stated
Processor A16 chip not stated
Connectivity Wi-Fi 6 not stated
Stylus Compatibility Apple Pencil (USB-C, 1st gen) not stated
Storage 128GB 128GB
Features Wi-Fi, Touch ID Wi-Fi
Color Yellow Silver
Dimensions 9.79 × 7.07 × 0.28 inches 30 × 30 × 6 inches
Weight 1.05 pounds 1.05 pounds
Size 128GB 128GB
Model MD4D4LL/A MD3Y4LLA

Frequently asked questions

What is the main difference between the Apple iPad 11-inch A16 128GB and the renewed model?

The new model features the A16 chip, while the renewed version does not specify a processor model in its data. Both devices offer 128GB of storage and Wi-Fi connectivity. The new unit comes in Yellow with Touch ID, whereas the renewed option is Silver and lacks Touch ID in its listed features.

Which iPad is better for casual users who need portability?

The Apple iPad 11-inch A16 128GB is the better choice for casual users prioritizing portability. It includes the A16 chip for solid performance and Touch ID for convenient unlocking. The device weighs 1.05 pounds and measures 9.79 by 7.07 inches, making it easy to carry for students and everyday tasks.

Does the renewed iPad include Touch ID?

The data for the Apple iPad 11-inch 128GB (Renewed) does not list Touch ID as a feature. It only specifies Wi-Fi connectivity. In contrast, the new A16 model explicitly includes Touch ID. You should verify this detail if biometric security is a requirement for your daily usage.

What color options are available for these two iPads?

The Apple iPad 11-inch A16 128GB is available in Yellow. The Apple iPad 11-inch 128GB (Renewed) model is listed in Silver. These are the only colors specified in the provided product data. You cannot choose other colors based on the current information for these specific ASINs.

How do the dimensions of the new and renewed iPads compare?

The new A16 iPad measures 9.79 inches in length, 7.07 inches in width, and 0.28 inches in height. The renewed model’s data lists unusual dimensions of 30 inches for length and width, which likely indicates a data error. Both units share the same weight of 1.05 pounds.

Is the A16 chip necessary for gaming and photo editing?

The A16 chip is designed to boost performance for gaming, photo editing, and video tasks. It ensures smooth operation for demanding applications. The renewed model does not list a specific processor, so its performance for these intensive tasks is not detailed in the provided specifications. The new model guarantees this level of power.

What is the storage capacity for both iPad models?

Both the Apple iPad 11-inch A16 128GB and the Apple iPad 11-inch 128GB (Renewed) feature 128GB of storage. This capacity is consistent across both products listed. You can store the same amount of photos, apps, and documents on either device, assuming the renewed unit’s storage is fully functional.

See also