As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

Barnes & Noble Nook GlowLight 4 6-Inch vs Barnes & Noble Nook Simple Touch: Spec Comparison

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

We compare the barnes noble nook glowlight 4 6 inch vs nook simple touch to help you choose. Both devices are e-readers from Barnes & Noble designed for digital books. The GlowLight 4 offers a modern 6-inch screen with 32GB of storage. The Simple Touch is an older model with a larger 7-inch display. You need to decide which size and storage capacity fit your reading habits best.

Key differences

AspectBarnes & Noble Nook GlowLight 4 6-InchBarnes & Noble Nook Simple Touch
Screen Size6 inches7 inches
Storage32 GBnot listed
Weight5.95 ounces12.8 ounces
Dimensions6.2 x 4.8 x 0.3 inches5 x 7 x 5 inches

Which one should you choose?

Choose Barnes & Noble Nook GlowLight 4 6-Inch if

  • You prefer a lighter device that is easier to hold for long periods.
  • You want 32GB of storage for a large library.
  • You value a compact 6-inch screen with a slim profile.

Choose Barnes & Noble Nook Simple Touch if

  • You want a larger 7-inch display for more text per page.
  • You are okay with a heavier device at 12.8 ounces.
  • You prefer the older Simple Touch model form factor.

Verdict: The GlowLight 4 is better for readers who prioritize portability and storage. The Simple Touch suits those who want a larger screen and do not mind the extra weight. Choose based on your preference for screen size and device weight.

Nook GlowLight 4 vs Simple Touch Specs

Screen size

Edge: Barnes & Noble Nook GlowLight 4 6-Inch

The Barnes & Noble Nook GlowLight 4 6-Inch features a 6-inch display. This size offers a balanced reading area that fits comfortably in one hand. The Barnes & Noble Nook Simple Touch does not list its screen dimensions in the provided data. You cannot confirm if the older model offers a similar or different viewing area. The GlowLight 4 explicitly states its 6-inch panel, which is standard for modern e-readers. This known dimension helps you gauge text size and page layout. Without data for the Simple Touch screen, you rely on the GlowLight 4 specification for this category.

Storage capacity

Edge: Barnes & Noble Nook GlowLight 4 6-Inch

Storage determines how many books you can keep on the device. The Barnes & Noble Nook GlowLight 4 6-Inch provides 32GB of storage. This capacity allows you to carry a substantial library with you. The Barnes & Noble Nook Simple Touch does not list its storage capacity in the provided data. You cannot compare how many books each device holds. The GlowLight 4 offers a clear advantage here because you know the exact limit. The Simple Touch leaves you guessing about its local storage capabilities. For those who need to know their space, the GlowLight 4 is the transparent choice.

Physical dimensions

Edge: Tie

Size affects how the device fits in your bag or hand. The Barnes & Noble Nook GlowLight 4 6-Inch measures 6.2 inches in length, 4.8 inches in height, and 0.3 inches in width. It is compact and thin. The Barnes & Noble Nook Simple Touch measures 5 inches in length, 7 inches in height, and 5 inches in width. The Simple Touch is taller and significantly wider. The GlowLight 4 is narrower, which may be easier to grip. The Simple Touch is wider, which might feel more stable but less portable. You can see the exact measurements for both devices to judge fit.

Weight

Edge: Barnes & Noble Nook GlowLight 4 6-Inch

Weight impacts comfort during long reading sessions. The Barnes & Noble Nook GlowLight 4 6-Inch weighs 5.95 ounces. This is a light device that is easy to hold for hours. The Barnes & Noble Nook Simple Touch weighs 12.8 ounces. This is more than double the weight of the GlowLight 4. The Simple Touch feels substantially heavier in your hands. The GlowLight 4 is the lighter option, reducing hand fatigue. You can clearly see the weight difference in the specifications. The lighter device is generally preferred for one-handed reading.

Battery life

Edge: Barnes & Noble Nook GlowLight 4 6-Inch

Battery life tells you how long the device lasts on a charge. The Barnes & Noble Nook GlowLight 4 6-Inch offers battery life measured in weeks. This suggests long endurance between charges. The Barnes & Noble Nook Simple Touch does not list its battery specifications in the provided data. You cannot verify how long the Simple Touch lasts. The GlowLight 4 explicitly mentions reading for weeks on a single charge. This is a significant advantage for travel or remote use. You have concrete data for the GlowLight 4 but none for the Simple Touch here.

Which Nook eReader fits your needs

Readers who want high resolution and storage

Our pick: Barnes & Noble Nook GlowLight 4 6-Inch

The GlowLight 4 offers a 300-dpi screen for sharp text. You get 32GB of storage to carry your entire library. The 6-inch display fits in one hand. Physical page-turning buttons are included for easy navigation. The soft-touch finish ensures a comfortable grip during long reading sessions.

Users who prefer Wi-Fi connectivity

Our pick: Barnes & Noble Nook Simple Touch

The Simple Touch includes built-in Wi-Fi for downloading books. It is a dedicated e-reader from Barnes & Noble. This model is suitable if you want a straightforward device without extra features. The Wi-Fi capability allows you to connect to your network for content updates.

Those seeking long battery life

Our pick: Barnes & Noble Nook GlowLight 4 6-Inch

The GlowLight 4 provides weeks of battery life on a single charge. This makes it ideal for travel or remote locations. You can read for extended periods without needing to find a power source. The efficient power management supports weeks of use.

The products compared

Barnes & Noble Nook GlowLight 4 6-Inch

Best for: Readers who prefer physical page-turning buttons

Screen Size
6"
Storage Capacity
32 GB
Battery Life
Weeks
Color
Black
Dimensions
6.2 × 0.3 × 4.8 inches
Weight
5.95 ounces

View on Amazon: Barnes & Noble Nook GlowLight 4 6-Inch Affiliate link

The Nook GlowLight 4 is a 6-inch e-reader with 32GB of storage. It features a 300-dpi high-resolution screen with a glare-resistant lens. The device offers weeks of battery life on a single charge. It includes physical page-turning buttons alongside the touch screen. This model suits readers who want tactile controls and ample space for their digital library.

Pros

  • 300-dpi high-resolution display
  • 32GB storage capacity
  • Physical page-turning buttons
  • Weeks of battery life
  • Glare-resistant lens

Cons

  • Only 6-inch screen size
  • No mention of waterproofing
  • Renewed condition only

Good fit if

  • You prefer physical buttons for navigation
  • You need 32GB of storage
  • You read in bright environments

Skip if

  • You want a larger screen
  • You require brand new condition
  • You need waterproof protection

Verdict: Barnes & Noble Nook GlowLight 4 6-Inch fits readers who value tactile page-turning buttons and a high-resolution 300-dpi screen. It is ideal for those needing 32GB of storage for a large library.

Barnes & Noble Nook Simple Touch

Best for: Lightweight black and white reading

Features
Wi-Fi
Color
Black
Dimensions
5 × 5 × 7 inches
Weight
12.8 ounces

View on Amazon: Barnes & Noble Nook Simple Touch Affiliate link

The Nook Simple Touch is a Wi-Fi eBook reader with a 5 by 7 inch display. It weighs 12.8 ounces. This model ships in black. You get a straightforward reading experience without extra features. It fits readers who want a lightweight device for books. The Wi-Fi connection allows you to download content. It is a basic option for daily reading.

Pros

  • Wi-Fi connectivity for downloads
  • Lightweight at 12.8 ounces
  • 5 by 7 inch screen size

Cons

  • No mention of adjustable front light
  • Basic plastic build quality
  • Limited to Wi-Fi only connectivity

Good fit if

  • You want a lightweight device
  • You prefer a simple interface
  • You read primarily in black and white

Skip if

  • You need a backlit screen
  • You want color display
  • You require Bluetooth audio

Verdict: Barnes & Noble Nook Simple Touch Black is a basic eReader for those who prioritize weight over screen features. It suits readers who only need Wi-Fi downloads and do not require a front light for night reading.

Specifications side by side

Spec Barnes & Noble Nook GlowLight 4 6-Inch Barnes & Noble Nook Simple Touch
Screen Size 6" not stated
Storage Capacity 32 GB not stated
Battery Life Weeks not stated
Storage 32GB not stated
Features not stated Wi-Fi
Color Black Black
Dimensions 6.2 × 0.3 × 4.8 inches 5 × 5 × 7 inches
Weight 5.95 ounces 12.8 ounces
Size not stated Black
Model not stated BNRV300

Frequently asked questions

Does the Nook GlowLight 4 have physical page-turning buttons?

Yes, the Barnes & Noble Nook GlowLight 4 includes physical page-turning buttons. This feature allows you to navigate your books without touching the screen. The device is designed for readers who prefer tactile controls. It offers a 6-inch display with 300-dpi resolution for clear text. The device weighs 5.95 ounces and measures 6.2 inches in length.

How much storage does the Nook GlowLight 4 provide?

The Nook GlowLight 4 provides 32GB of internal storage. This capacity allows you to store a large library of digital books. You do not need to worry about running out of space for new downloads. The device features a 6-inch screen and physical buttons. It has a slim profile with a width of 0.3 inches.

Is the Nook Simple Touch suitable for reading at night?

No, the Nook Simple Touch does not include a front light. It is not suitable for reading in low-light conditions or at night. You need external lighting to read comfortably with this device. It is a basic eReader focused on lightweight design. It connects via Wi-Fi for downloading books.

What is the weight difference between the two Nook devices?

The Nook GlowLight 4 weighs 5.95 ounces, while the Nook Simple Touch weighs 12.8 ounces. The GlowLight 4 is significantly lighter and easier to hold for long periods. The Simple Touch is more than twice as heavy. This difference matters if you prioritize portability. The GlowLight 4 also has a smaller footprint.

Does the Nook Simple Touch have a high-resolution screen?

The provided data does not list the screen resolution for the Nook Simple Touch. It is described as a basic eReader for black and white reading. The GlowLight 4, by contrast, has a 300-dpi screen. This resolution ensures sharp text on the newer model. You should check the Simple Touch specifications if screen clarity is critical.

Can I download books wirelessly on both devices?

Yes, the Nook Simple Touch supports Wi-Fi for wireless downloads. This allows you to fetch books directly to the device. The GlowLight 4 also connects via Wi-Fi for the same purpose. Both devices enable you to expand your library without a computer. The Simple Touch is designed for users who only need this basic connectivity.

Which Nook is better for carrying a large library?

The Nook GlowLight 4 is better for carrying a large library. It offers 32GB of storage to hold many books. The Simple Touch does not list its storage capacity in the provided data. If you need space for a vast collection, the GlowLight 4 is the clear choice. It also features a larger 6-inch screen for comfortable reading.

What are the dimensions of the Nook GlowLight 4?

The Nook GlowLight 4 measures 6.2 inches in length, 4.8 inches in height, and 0.3 inches in width. It weighs 5.95 ounces. These dimensions make it compact and easy to hold in one hand. The Simple Touch is larger and heavier. The GlowLight 4’s slim design enhances its portability for daily use.

See also